Book Review: “The King” by J.R. Ward

king1

“The King” by J.R. Ward

4 stars

SUMMARY

Long live the King…

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them.

The question is, will true love win out… or tortured legacy take over?

REVIEW

This book was one of the most anticipated book for this year and I wanted to read like crazy! I know I rated with 4 stars, but I need to explain myself for this rating. This was supposed to be another Wrath-Beth story but that wasn’t the case. I believe that the secondary stories had more scenes than the main couple! So, I believe that this book has two parts: the first one that is about Wrath and Beth that I gave 5 stars and the other with all the others that I gave 3 stars, and that’s why my final rating is 4 stars.

Wrath is having difficult time. Too many people want him to lose the throne and they found as an excuse his love for Beth. At the same time, it’s obvious that Beth wants a baby and Wrath is scared of losing her. Soon, Wrath, will learn what is truly important in his life and he’ll find a new meaning.

I always loved Wrath, but in this book, I loved him even more! He realized more things about himself and what he had to do in order to be happy. He lived a life wanting to be like his father and that’s why he was living under much pressure. In this story, he had something like epiphany and faced his fears.

Beth’s amazing! She’s a great wife and she proved that she can think like a queen. She also proved that she’s a fighter and that she doesn’t quit easily. Her love for Wrath is beyond words and she helped him find himself in the midst of many difficulties.

A big surprise in this story, was the fact that the author decided to give us some flashbacks from Wrath’s parents! I think that reading about them, made me understand Wrath better!

I won’t say anything about the other characters that have a part in this book. Really, why there were so many pages for Trez, Selena, Assail, Sola, Xcor and Layla is beyond me! I am not saying that I don’t find interesting their relationships, but I believe that there were too many information that they weren’t related with the main story!

Nevertheless, I enjoyed this book very much and it was good to see Wrath and Beth again! The world-building becomes more complicated with each installment and that is something that I like because I don’t know what to expect! If you are a fan of this genre, I recommend the whole series!

About Maria

I am a dreamer in a fantasy world.. I am a historian in the real world... I am all the things I always wanted to be and all the things I will become..

Posted on April 4, 2014, in REVIEWS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Deena Remiel's Place

Author of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance

Anna Bayes

Writer of Erotic Romances for the Fiercely Loyal

Tianna's Blog of Books & Music

Connecting Great Books with Epic Music

Author TJ Shaw

Writer of Forgotten Dreams, Gatekeeper of Forbidden Love

Cupcakes and Popcorn

Popcorn for movies, and cupcakes for books. Put them together and see how it looks!

Reading in Pajamas

Romance Book Blog

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

The Moonlight Library

reading books by moonlight

LOVEandLIVEtoREAD

Because a book is always a great company...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,534 other followers

